Home / Race / Match Racing

What is Match Race Sailing?

The Regatta will follow the International Competitive Sailing Regulations, particularly Appendix C ( Special rules for Match Racing), the sailing instructions and rules for the J 70 Sailing class.
II.
The J 70 boats will be provided and may not be altered by the competitors.
III.
Boats shall be supplied with Mainsail, Jib and Spinnaker. A blue or yellow flag shall be flown from the aftstay. The first boat of a pair displays a blue flag, and must enter the starting line from the portside. The other boat displays a yellow flag and must enter the starting line from the starboard side. These respectively coloured flags shall also be used to indicate penalties or recalls, as well as identification when crossing the finish-line.
IV.
After the preliminary signal the helmsman is not allowed to leave the rudder, (excluding an emergency). When a helmsman is incapable of continuing the race, another crew member is permitted to take the helm in the Regatta, only with the permission of the racing organisers.
V.
The 10 competitors will be sailing in the Round-Robin system (one against another). There will be a sail-off for places 5 - 8. The places 1 - 4 go to the semi-final, followed by the petit final and the final.
VI.
The course will not be altered after the announcement signal in each Race series. The barrels 1 and 2 are orange coloured buoys.
VII.
Any damage must be shown with a white flag on the aftstay before the announcement signal is sounded. The boat should register itself immediately on the starboardside of the Starting boat. When a boat cannot be repaired within a certain time, the opponent wins without racing. The Start and Finish lines are between the mast of the Starting boat on the starboard side and a red flag on the portside. The matches will start in 5 minute intervals. Each boat must start within 2 minutes of its start signal.
VIII.
When a boat, at the start signal, has a part of the hull, the crew or its equipment, or any extensions windward of the start line, a boat identification flag ( yellow or blue) will be shown and an acute signal heard until the boat has manoeuvred back fully behind the Start line.
IX.
The umpires are positioned in a rubber dinghy directly by each pair of boats and they signal with coloured cylinders any penalties for each boat. If both boats have the same number of penalties then neither boat needs to take the penalties. If the difference in penalties is more than two, then the race is finished and the boat with the least number of penalties is the winner. All penalties must be taken before going over the Finish line. When there is more than one penalty outstanding they must be taken immediately.

Home / Race / Match racing

Was bedeutet Match Race Segeln?

I.
Die Regatta wird nach den internationalen Wettsegelbestimmungen, insbesondere Anhang C (spezielle Regeln für das Match Race), den Segelanweisungen und den Regeln der J 70 Klasse gesegelt.

II.

Es wird auf gestellten J 70 Booten gesegelt, die durch die Teilnehmer nicht verändert werden dürfen.

III.
Die Boote sind mit vorgegebenem Großsegel, Fock und Gennaker ausgerüstet. Am Achterstag jedes Bootes ist eine gelbe oder blaue Flagge angebracht. Die erste Yacht einer Paarung führt eine blaue Flagge, sie muss von der Backbord-(linken) Seite in die Startlinie eintauchen. Die andere Yacht führt eine gelbe Flagge, sie muss von der Steuerbord-(rechten) Seite in die Startlinie eintauchen. Diese beiden Farben werden ebenso benutzt, um den Yachten Strafen oder Rückrufe anzuzeigen und um diese beim Zieldurchgang zu identifizieren.
IV.
Nach dem Vorbereitungssignal darf der Steuermann das Ruder – außer im Notfall – nicht mehr verlassen. Wenn ein Steuermann nicht mehr in der Lage ist, das Rennen fortzuführen, darf ein anderes Crew-Mitglied die Regatta mit Genehmigung der Wettfahrtleitung fortsetzen.
V.
Die 10 Teilnehmer segeln eine Round Robin (jeder gegen jeden). Platz 5 - 8 segeln die Plätze aus. Platz 1 - 4 gehen ins Halbfinale und später ins Petit-Finale und Finale.
Der Kurs ist auf Seite 13 dargestellt und wird nach dem Ankündigungssignal einer jeden Rennserie (Flight) nicht mehr geändert. Die Tonnen 1 und 2 sind orangefarbene Bojen.
VII.
Eine Beschädigung muss durch eine weiße Flagge am Achterstag vor dem Ankündigungssignal angezeigt werden. Das Boot soll sich unverzüglich an der Steuerbordseite des Startschiffes melden. Kann ein Boot nicht in angemessener Zeit repariert werden, gewinnt der Gegner kampflos. Die Start- und Ziellinie befindet sich zwischen dem Mast des Startschiffes auf der Steuerbord- und einer roten Flagge auf der Backbord-Seite. Die Matches werden in fünf-Minuten-Abständen gestartet. Ein Boot muss 2 Minuten nach seinem Startsignal gestartet sein.
VIII.
Wenn ein Boot beim Startsignal mit einem Teil des Rumpfes, der Crew oder der Ausrüstung im Luv der Startlinie oder deren Verlängerung ist, so wird die Bootsidentifizierungsflagge (gelb oder blau) in Verbindung mit einem akustischen Signal angezeigt, bis das Boot vollständig hinter die Startlinie zurückgekehrt ist.
IX.
Die Schiedsrichter befinden sich auf einem Schlauchboot direkt bei jedem Bootspaar und zeigen durch Aufstecken farbiger Zylinder eine Strafe für das jeweilige Boot an. Haben beide Boote die gleiche Anzahl von Strafen, braucht keines der Boote eine Strafe auszuführen. Beträgt die Differenz der Strafen mehr als zwei, wird das Rennen beendet und das Boot mit weniger Strafen gewinnt. Alle Strafen müssen vor dem Zieldurchgang erledigt sein. Bei mehr als einer anstehenden Strafe muss diese jedoch sofort erledigt werden.